Documentary: Crossing the Line

“On August 15th, at noon in broad daylight when everybody was eating lunch, I hit the road. Yes I was afraid. Am I gonna live or die? And when I stepped into the minefield and I seen it with my own eyes, I started sweating. I crossed over, looking for my new life.”

James Joseph Dresnok (Comrade Joe) defected from the U.S. Army in 1963 to a better life in the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (DPRK – North Korea), he has lived there for 43 years. Dresnok has stated that he intends to spend the rest of his life in North Korea, and that no amount of money could entice him back to the West.

In this documentary, “Crossing the Line”, (here in 9 parts) he tells the story of his fascinating life.

Leave a Reply

